Tickets

Louis Malle Retrospective

 


T
he Lumière Film Festival is pleased to announce its major “French cinema” retrospective of 2022. This year’s festival will showcase the work of an outstanding director, who evolved at the crossroads of the New Wave, French cinéma d’auteur and American independent films, winner of both a Palme d'Or and an Oscar: Louis Malle.

Louis Malle addressed a range of subjects, paying no heed to the taboos that constricted French society. In 1963, he adapted the novel by the sulphurous Drieu La Rochelle for The Fire Within. In 1974, with Patrick Modiano, a grand specialist of the period, he painted an acerbic portrait of France of the Collaboration and the Vichy regime in Lacombe, Lucien. In the 1970s, Pretty Baby (based on the life of photographer Ernest J. Bellocq) and Murmur of the Heart sparked controversy. In collaboration with Jean-Claude Carrière, he delivered May Fools, a surreal and hilarious depiction of the bourgeoisie facing the ordeal of May 1968... Louis Malle also achieved great popular success with Au revoir les enfants (Goodbye, Children), which garnered seven César awards in 1988.

The retrospective will allow audiences to see the actors of Malle’s films on the big screen: Jeanne Moreau, Maurice Ronet, Brigitte Bardot, Jean-Paul Belmondo, Aurore Clément (in her acting début) or Dominique Blanc, as well as Brooke Shields, Susan Sarandon, Burt Lancaster or Ed Harris. The Louis Malle revival will also feature dialogue co-written by Louise de Vilmorin, Patrick Modiano, Roger Nimier or Jean-Claude Carrière.

 

A selection of films restored by Gaumont will premiere at the Lumière Film Festival,
before their rerelease in theatres on 9 November 2022 by Malavida.


Thanks also to TF1 Studio and Paramount US

 

Still to come: Details of the Louis Malle retrospective.

 

 

 

LOUIS MALLE

Although he was born two years after Godard and a few months after Truffaut, Louis Malle (1932-1995) immediately took the world by storm. At 23 years old, in 1956, he won the Palme d’Or for The Silent World (an award shared with co-director Captain Cousteau). At age 26, he received the Louis-Delluc Prize for Elevator to the Gallows (also known as Frantic), in which the trumpet of Miles Davis, whom he had met thanks to Boris Vian, served as a backdrop for the beauty of Jeanne Moreau strolling along the Champs-Élysées. "We were the children of the new Kodak film, Tri-X, which allowed us to shoot in the street or in dimly lit interiors, working with much smaller crews." (Malle on Malle, conversation with Philip French, 1993).

His thirty or so films - both fiction and documentaries - made over a period of 40 years, bear witness to an inexhaustible curiosity, a solid literary culture and a remarkable technical mastery. His films boldly and wittily exposed the upper middle class of his own background, from The Lovers (1958), whose eroticism created a scandal, to the Chekhovian saraband of May Fools (1989).  He probed the darker side of French society, exemplified in Lacombe, Lucien (1974), a look at the Collaboration that sparked a fierce controversy, which Louis Malle brought to a close by moving to Hollywood for several years, where he filmed, most notably, Atlantic City (1980).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Credits : Louis Malle on the set of Murmur of the Heart © Vides Films - Marianne Productions - Franz Seitz / DR

Ce site nécessite l'utilisation d'un navigateur internet plus récent. Merci de mettre à jour votre navigateur Internet Explorer vers une version plus récente ou de télécharger Mozilla Firefox. :
http://www.mozilla.org/fr/firefox

Billetterie

Rétrospective Louis Malle

 


V
oici la grande rétrospective « cinéma français » de Lumière 2022. Le festival proposera de redécouvrir le travail d’un grand auteur, qui a évolué au croisement de la Nouvelle Vague, du cinéma d’auteur français et du cinéma indépendant américain, lauréat d’une Palme d’or et d’un Oscar : Louis Malle.

Louis Malle s’attaque à tous les sujets et fait fi des interdits et des tabous qui corsètent la bonne société française. En 1963, il adapte avec Le Feu follet le sulfureux Drieu la Rochelle. En 1974, avec Patrick Modiano, grand spécialiste de la période, il peint dans Lacombe Lucien un portrait acerbe de la France de la collaboration et du régime de Vichy. Dans les années 70, La Petite (inspiré de la vie du photographe Ernest J. Bellocq) et Le Souffle au cœur provoquent la polémique. Avec la complicité de Jean-Claude Carrière, il livre avec Milou en mai une peinture surréaliste et désopilante de la bourgeoisie à l’épreuve de Mai 68… Mais Louis Malle, ce sont aussi de grands succès populaires comme Au revoir les enfants lauréat de 7 César en 1988.

L’occasion de revoir sur grand écran les grands acteurs qui ont accompagné son œuvre : Jeanne Moreau, Maurice Ronet, Brigitte Bardot, Jean-Paul Belmondo, Aurore Clément qui fait ses débuts chez le cinéaste, Dominique Blanc… mais aussi Brooke Shields, Susan Sarandon, Burt Lancaster ou Ed Harris. L’occasion aussi de réentendre des dialogues co-écrits avec Louise de Vilmorin, Patrick Modiano, Roger Nimier ou Jean-Claude Carrière.

 


Une sélection de films restaurés par Gaumont présentés en avant-première
au festival Lumière et ressortis en salle le 9 novembre 2022 par Malavida.


Remerciements aussi à TF1 Studio et Paramount US

 

 

À suivre, le détail de la programmation de la rétrospective Louis Malle.

 

 

 

À PROPOS DE LOUIS MALLE

Il naît deux ans après Godard, quelques mois après Truffaut, mais Louis Malle (1932-1995) prend tout le monde de vitesse : à 23 ans, en 1956, il reçoit une Palme d’or pour Le Monde du silence, (partagée avec le Commandant Cousteau), à 26 ans, le Prix Louis-Delluc pour Ascenseur pour l’échafaud, où la trompette de Miles Davis, rencontré grâce à Boris Vian, sert d’écrin à la beauté de Jeanne Moreau arpentant les Champs-Élysées. « Nous étions les enfants de la nouvelle pellicule Kodak, la Tri-X, qui nous permettait de tourner dans la rue, ou dans des intérieurs faiblement éclairés, avec de plus petites équipes. » (Malle on Malle, conversation avec Philip French, 1993)

La trentaine de films – fictions et documentaires – qu’il tourne en quarante ans témoignent d’une curiosité jamais rassasiée, d’une solide culture littéraire et d’une grande maîtrise technique. Ses films épinglent avec audace et truculence la grande bourgeoisie dont il est issu, des Amants (1958), dont l’érotisme fait scandale, à la sarabande tchekhovienne de Milou en mai (1989). Ils scrutent les zones d’ombre de la société française, à l’image de Lacombe Lucien (1974), regard sur la collaboration qui provoque un vif débat, que Louis Malle clôt en s’installant plusieurs années à Hollywood où il tourne, notamment, Atlantic City (1980).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Crédits image : portrait de Louis Malle sur le tournage du Souffle au cœur © Vides Films - Marianne Productions - Franz Seitz / DR

Ce site nécessite l'utilisation d'un navigateur internet plus récent. Merci de mettre à jour votre navigateur Internet Explorer vers une version plus récente ou de télécharger Mozilla Firefox. :
http://www.mozilla.org/fr/firefox