Prix Lumie Re Image PageThe Lumière Award


Since 2009, the Lumière Award has recognized a cinema personality for his or her entire body of work and relevant role in the history of cinema. This artist is celebrated in Lyon, the birthplace of the Lumière Cinematograph, on the very site of its invention: Rue du Premier-Film (First Film Street).


Presented every October during the Lumière festival, in the presence of many artists and 3,000 festivalgoers in the grand hall of the Cité Internationale Congress Centre, the Lumière Award is distinguished by the calibre of its laureates and the resulting media impact. Despite its relatively recent existence, the award's international scope and prestigious list of recipients have given rise to aspirations of becoming a “Nobel Prize” in cinema. As quoted in the press: ”it has become one of the world's most highly-regarded awards and is often compared to a Nobel Prize in Cinema.”

Clint Eastwood was the first to receive the Lumière Award on October 17, 2009. He has since been succeeded by Milos Forman (Czechoslovakia), Gérard Depardieu (France), Ken Loach (United Kingdom), Quentin Tarantino (États-Unis), Pedro Almodóvar (Spain), Martin Scorsese ((United States), Catherine Deneuve (France), Wong Kar-wai (Hong-Kong), Jane Fonda (United States), Francis Ford Coppola (United States), Jean-Pierre et Luc Dardenne (Belgium), Jane Campion (New Zealand) and Tim Burton (United States).

This year, Wim Wenders will receive the Lumière Award on Friday, October 20, 2023.

Created by Thierry Frémaux, the Lumière Award is a distinction reflecting time, gratitude and admiration in order to express our appreciation to the artists of the cinema who fill our lives. It was in part inspired by the 1992 visit to Lyon by Joseph L. Mankiewicz, who, a few seconds after his arrival, wished to know the exact location where Louis Lumière had placed his camera to film Leaving the Factories. Standing upon the emblematic site, he closed his eyes and exclaimed, “Thank you, Lumière.”

Since then, hundreds of filmmakers have passed through the doors of Rue du Premier-Film, making it a “world-site” and a rediscovery of the memory of the history of cinema.

The Lumière festival will be held from Saturday the 14th to Sunday the 22nd of October in Lyon and its metropolitan area. Organized every year by the Institut Lumière team and supported by the Metropolis of Lyon and the Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Region, as well as by numerous private partners, the Lumière festival has established itself as an essential worldwide event that honours the vitality of international film. In 2022, the event brought together 180,000 people.





WWenders Lumiere Award


Prix Lumiere Tim Burton C Lea Rener Archives

Tim Burton

Lumière Award 2022




Jane Campion

Lumière Award 2021



05 Prix Lumiere Chassignole Archives

Jean-Pierre and Luc Darenne

Lumière Award 2020



014 Prix Chassignole 1

Francis Ford Coppola

Lumière Award 2019



09 PrixLumiere2019 Chassignole R

Jane Fonda

Lumière Award 2018



Wong Kar-wai

Lumière Award 2017




Catherine Deneuve

Lumière Award 2016



Martin Scorsese

Lumière Award 2015




Pedro Almodovar

Lumière Award 2014



Quentin Tarantino

Lumière Award 2013




Ken Loach

Lumière Award 2012



Gérard Depardieu

Lumière Award 2011




Milos Forman

Lumière Award 2010



Clint Eastwood

Lumière Award 2009






Ce site nécessite l'utilisation d'un navigateur internet plus récent. Merci de mettre à jour votre navigateur Internet Explorer vers une version plus récente ou de télécharger Mozilla Firefox. :